Ryan McHugh to be presented with Donegal player of the year award

Ryan McHugh will be crowned the Donegal senior player of the year at the county banquet on Saturday week at the Abbey Hotel.

The Kilcar man won an All-Star award already this season for his performances for the county team this year, and also excelled as Kilcar reached the county championship final and won the league title.

Setanta’s Danny Cullen will pick up the hurler of the year award, while Ciara Hegarty from Moville will be awarded the ladies football prize.

Championship winners Glenswilly, Burt and Downings will all pick up club awards on the night.

Tickets for the annual awards banquet are now on sale.

Awards winner December 2016


Senior Player                                     Ryan McHugh Cill Chartha                                          Derryveagh Crystal


Hurler                                                   Danny Cullen (Setanta)                                                 Derryveagh Crystal


Grounds                                              Naomh Adhmahain                                                       Plaque


Senior Club                                         Glenswilly                                                                          Plaque


Intermediate                                     Burt                                                                                       Plaque


Junior                                                   Downings                                                                           Plaque


Lady Footballer                                Ciara Hegarty Moville                                                   Derryveagh Crystal


Gaeltachta                                         Gaoth Dobhair                                                                 Derryveagh Crystal


Outside Gaeltachta                         Naomh Ultan                                                                   Derryveagh Crystal


Service to Culture Award              Annmarie Sheerin (Naomh Naille)                          Derryveagh Crystal


Lifetime achievement                    Naul McCole                                                                      Derryveagh Crystal


Referee Award                                  Shaun Mc Laughlin  (Malin)                                       Derryveagh Crystal


Handball Award                              Avril Mc Namee (MacCumhaills)                             Derryveagh Crystal