Donegal trio head to middle east on All-Stars tour

Donegal’s Ryan McHugh, Michael Murphy and Neil Gallagher have departed for the United Arab Emirates today as part of the All-Star football tour to Abu Dhabi and Dubai.

A 29-strong party representing the 2015 and 2016 All-Star winners flew out from Dublin today.

McHugh is part of the 2016 team having picked up his first All-Star at the start of the month.

Murphy and Gallagher have been included in the 2015 team having been nominated for awards that year.

GAA president Aogán Ó Fearghail will lead the party which will also include team managers Liam Kearns of Tipperary and Mickey Harte of Tyrone.

The teams will play an exhibition match on Friday at the Zayad Sports City venue in Abu Dhabi.

The players return to Ireland on Monday.

Monaghan’s Conor McManus and Karl O’Connell, Tyrone’s Colm Cavanagh, Cathal McCarron, Mattie Donnelly and Peter Harte, and Mayo’s David Clarke and Brendan Harrison are also among the travelling party.

2015 GAA/GPA All-Stars Football Team Selection

Brendan Kealy (Kerry)

Shane Enright (Kerry)

Cian O’Sullivan (Dublin)

Philly McMahon (Dublin)

Anthony Maher (Kerry)

Brian Fenton (Dublin)

Conor McManus (Monaghan)

Donnchadh Walsh (Kerry)

Bernard Brogan (Dublin)

Michael Murphy (Donegal)

Neil Gallagher (Donegal)

Colm Cavanagh (Tyrone)

Kieran Martin (Westmeath)

Karl O’Connell (Monaghan)

Cathal McCarron (Tyrone)



2016 GAA/GPA All-Stars Football Team Selection

David Clarke (Mayo)

Brendan Harrison (Mayo)

Johnny Cooper (Dublin)

Ryan McHugh (Donegal)

Mattie Donnelly (Tyrone)

Peter Harte (Tyrone)

Ciarán Kilkenny (Dublin)

Dean Rock (Dublin)

Michael Quinlivan (Tipperary)

Paul Geaney (Kerry)

Robbie Kiely (Tipperary)

Conor Sweeney (Tipperary)

Peter Acheson (Tipperary)

Declan Kyne (Galway)