Derrygonnelly Harps knocked out in Ulster

Ulster SFC Quarter Final

Slaughtneil 0-12 v Derrygonnelly 0-7

Fermanagh County champions Derrygonnelly Harps bowed out of this year’s Ulster Club Championship with their heads held high after going down by 5 points against the more illustrious opponents Slaughtneil.

The second half only seen Derrygonnelly score two points but it always felt that they would need a goal to have any chance of getting back into a contest that Slaughtneil led from the 28th minute.

Early Slaughtneil points from Paul Bradley, Francis McEldowney and Bradley again gave the Derry champions a fine start but the Harps came back and Garvan Jones (2), Leigh Jones and Ryan Jones made it 0-4 to 0-3 to the Fermanagh champions on 19 minutes.

Paul Bradley and Garvan McGinley then exchanged scores before Paul Bradley and Patsy Bradley gave Slaughtneil a 0-6 to 0-5 interval lead.

The second half opened up with black cards for Slaughtneil’s Patsy Bradley and Derrygonnelly’s Maurice Cassidy in a game that never became aggressive in anyway but Slaughtneil pressed on with scores from Shane McGuigan, Paul Bradley, Cormac O’Doherty and Shane McGuigan, while Derrygonnelly responded with points from Leigh Jones and Garvan Jones.

Paul Ward was to receive a second yellow card and the game closed up with late Slaughtneil scores coming from Karl McKaigue and Barry McGuigan.

It’s still a fine season for Derrygonnelly, a double of league and Championship glory has been completed but the thirst of gaining a first ever win in the Ulster Club Championship continues for them sadly.

Derrygonnelly – Garvan Jones 0-3, Leigh Jones 0-2, Ryan Jones 0-1, Garvan McGinley 0-1.

Slaughtneil – Paul Bradley 0-5, Francis McEldowney 0-1, Patsy Bradley 0-1, Shane McGuigan 0-2, Cormac O’Doherty 0-1, Karl McKaigue 0-1, Barry McGuigan 0-1.

Referee – Noel Mooney (Cavan)

Elsewhere Kinawley lost in the Ulster Club IFC to Aghagallon, 2-8 to 1-9.

In the Ulster Club JFC Newtownbutler gained a great win over Drumgath, 1-15 to 1-9.