Second count underway in Sligo-Strandhill

The second count is underway to elect candidates onto the Sligo-Strandhill electoral area of Sligo County Council.


Earlier this evening, Independent Socialist candidate Declan Bree (1,537) and Tom MacSharry of Fianna Fáil (1,374) exceeded the quota of 1,188 following the first count and were deemed elected.


As a result of their election Councillor Bree and MacSharry’s surplus votes are being distributed.


It’s expected that Fergal Nealon will capitalise from this with the Fine Gael candidate picking up 1,158 votes in the first count.


You can listen to our live coverage on FM or online by clicking here.