Mohill are Leitrim senior league champions

Mohill collected the Leitrim Masonite senior football league division 1 title on Saturday evening with a narrow 1-11 to 0-13 victory over St Mary’s in Carrick-on-Shannon.

Keith Beirne (pictured) scored 1-5 of his side’s tally but the winners, who are managed by Sligo’s Eamonn O’Hara, were pushed all the way by St Mary’s, for whom county player Paul Keaney top scored with 0-9.

Saturday’s win saw Mohill complete their Division 1 league campaign unbeaten, having dropped just one point all season in the regulation league games (a draw against Glencar/Manor).


In a further twist, the draw for the 2022 Connacht Gold senior club championship, which followed Saturday evening’s league final, paired the teams together in the opening round.

The first-round games will be played on the weekend of August 12/13th.

Elsewhere on Saturday, Fenagh St/Caillin’s continued their fine league form with a five-point win against Aughnasheelin the final played at Ballinamore – while Kiltubrid were crowned Division 3 champions after their win against Aughavas in Cloone.

Saturday’s results
Leitrim Masonite SFL Div 1 final
Mohill 1-11 St Mary’s 0-13

Div 2 final
Fenagh/St Caillin’s 1-17 Aughnasheelin 2-9

Div 3 final
Kiltubrid 0-13 Aughavas 1-9.