Sligo, Leitrim and Donegal hurlers set for championship openers

The hurlers of Sligo, Leitrim and Donegal are to begin their respective championship campaigns this weekend.

Sligo begin their Christy Ring Cup campaign when they travel to McGovern Park in Ruislip to take on London on Saturday.

Pádraig Mannion’s side, who were recently were defeated by Derry in the Division 2B League final are in their third successive season at this level.

Having enjoyed a strong Christy Ring Cup campaign last year, reaching the semi-final, the team captained by Finnian Cawley will look to go one better this season.

Olcan Conway’s Leitrim host a Longford team who defeated them in March’s Division 3B League semi-final in Round One of the Lory Meagher Cup at Avant Money Páirc Seán Mac Diarmada on Sunday at 2pm.

Leitrim received a boost during the week that talisman Joe Murray’s red card from the League semi-final has been rescinded.

Opponents Longford could be without the influential Paddy Lynam who received a straight red in Longford’s Division 3B Final loss to Fermanagh.

In the Nickey Rackard Cup, Donegal travel to Maguiresbridge to face Fermanagh.

Donegal go into the championship after a solid league campaign which seen them retain their Division 2B status.

Donegal, who won the Nickey Rackard Cup in 2020 will look to players such as Declan Coulter, Davin Flynn and Ritchie Ryan once again central to Mickey McCann’s plans.

Fixtures ( Sunday, 2pm unless stated):

Christy Ring Cup

London v Sligo (Saturday, 2pm)

Derry v Wicklow (1pm)

Mayo v Kildare (1pm)


Nickey Rackard Cup

Warwickshire v Tyrone (12.30pm)

Armagh v Roscommon

Fermanagh v Donegal 


Lory Meagher Cup

Lancashire v Louth (12pm)

Leitrim v Longford

Monaghan v Cavan