St. Eunan’s win National Senior Cup for the eighth time

St.Eunan’s College, Letterkenny have been crowned FAI Schools’ National Senior Soccer (Dr. Tony O’Neill Cup) champions for the eighth time in the school’s history following a 3-2 victory over De La Salle College, Waterford at the Athlone Town Stadium on Wednesday afternoon.

Incidentally, the same two schools faced each other in the 2004 final.

Michael Kelly’s charges took the lead on 20 minutes with Noah Barrett netting the opener.

Their opponents equalised on 37 minutes as Matas Grinius tapped in from close range.

The Déise students took the lead five minutes into the second half as Shane O’Brien unleashed a powerful effort to the back of the net.

De La Salle goalkeeper Dara Kavanagh produced a strong double save to deny St. Eunan’s’ Dylan McAteeer on 68 minutes as the Letterkenny students hunted the elusive equaliser.

The equaliser did arrive on 72 minutes as Nathan Plumb produced a brilliant individual effort bring his side back on level terms.

Following a foul in the box, St. Eunan’s were awarded a penalty as the clock entered the ninetieth minute.

Tiernan Brown sent it straight down the middle as the aforementioned Kavanagh dived to his left-hand side to win his school the Dr. Tony O’Neill Cup.