Adult club football season in Sligo begins with new Spring League

Adult club football in Sligo for the 2022 season begins this Thursday night when the first game in the new Spring League sees league and county champions Tourlestrane host Tubbercurry at Tourlestrane GAA Park in the competition’s opening match (8:30pm).

The new Spring League in Sligo is being played on a divisional basis (North, South, East & West) and clubs will compete without their county players.

It replaces the Abbott, Benson and Kiernan Cup competitions this year.

It will run throughout April and early May before the Furey’s Coaches All-County leagues begin on May 7th/8th.

Tourlestrane, who are under new manager Fergal O’Donnell this year, host the opening fixture in the South Divisional Spring League on Thursday night against their neighbours Tubber.

The full list of opening weekend Spring League fixtures is listed below.

Thursday, March 31st (First team has home advantage)
South Division
Tourlestrane v Tubbercurry, 8pm

Friday, April 1st
South Division

Coolaney/Mullinabreena v Bunninadden, 7pm 

Saturday, April 2nd
West Division
Easkey v Enniscrone/Kilglass, 6pm
Castleconnor v Cloonacool, 6pm
St Pat’s v St Farnan’s, 6pm

Sunday, April 3rd
North Division
St Mary’s v St Molaise Gaels, 12pm
Drumcliffe/Rosses Point v St John’s, 12pm
Calry/St Joseph’s v Coolera/Strandhill, 12pm

East Division
Ballymote v Eastern Harps, 12pm
Geevagh v  Owenmore Gaels, 12pm
St Michael’s v Shamrock Gaels, 3pm.