Sligo end league campaign with win over Leitrim

Sligo senior gaelic footballers secured third sport in Division 4 of the Allianz Football League with a 2-16 to 2-10 victory over Leitrim at Markievicz Park on Sunday.

Promotion was already beyond both counties going into this game but the teams served up an entertaining 75 minutes of football.

The game produced several talking points including straight red cards in separate incidents for Sligo’s Sean Carrabine and Leitrim’s Keith Beirne.

Both men are set to miss their counties respective Connacht Championship openers in New York and Ruislip next month.

Sligo manager Tony McEntee spoke to Ocean FM Sport’s John Lynch after the game.


Sligo scored two early first-half goals through Paddy O’Connor – but Leitrim came right back into proceedings and netted two first-half goals themselves through Jack Heslin and Keith Beirne.

Then Beirne received his marching orders following an off-the-ball incident while Sligo attacked up the other end of the pitch.

Sligo led 2-6 to 2-5 at the interval but they received a setback early in the second-half when Carrabine picked up a straight red following a collision with Leitrim’s Paddy Maguire.

As Leitrim legs tired slightly in the closing moments, Sligo managed to produce the key scores, with substitute Nathan Rooney (whose Dad Aidan is a former Leitrim Connacht Championship winner) impressing for Sligo up front when introduced.

Sligo finish third on 10 points in Division 4 with Leitrim fourth on eight.

Cavan and Tipperary ensured promotion to Division 3 following their respective wins on Saturday.

Allianz Football League – Division 4 results
Sligo 2-16 Leitrim 2-10
Cavan 2-24 Waterford 0-10
Tipperary 1-14 London 0-12
Carlow 0-14 Wexford 1-11
(Cavan & Tipp are promoted)

Division 1
Donegal 1-14 Armagh 1-13
Mayo 2-20 Kildare 0-18
Monaghan 3-13 Dublin 1-18
Kerry 2-11 Tyrone 1-15
(Kerry & Mayo into league final – Kildare & Dublin are relegated)

Division 2
Roscommon 1-20 Galway 1-15
Meath 2-11 Derry 1-16
Down 1-9 Clare 2-14
Offaly 1-20 Cork 1-21
(Roscommon & Galway promoted – Offaly & Down relegated)

Division 3
Limerick 1-16 Fermanagh 0-14
Antrim 0-12 Westmeath 1-13
Laois 1-13 Longford 2-17
Wicklow 1-13 Louth 2-17
(Louth & Limerick promoted – Wicklow & Laois relegated).