Ballinamore end 31-year wait for Leitrim SFC title

Ballinamore Seán O’Heslin’s are celebrating a Leitrim senior football championship title for the first time since 1990, following’s Sunday’s dramatic 1-16 to 0-17 win over holders Mohill in a thrilling county final in Carrick-on-Shannon.

Niall McGovern’s 57th minute goal proved to be a pivotal score in a highly entertaining encounter, which was also broadcast live on TG4 – the first ever Leitrim SFC final to be televised live.

Here’s how the Ocean FM Sport commentary team of John Lynch and Martin McGowan described the closing moments:


It’s Ballinamore’s 21st senior title and ends a long wait since their previous success 31 years ago.

Winning manager Dom Corrigan paid tribute to his players when he spoke to Ocean FM Sport’s PJ Leddy:


Mohill manager Liam Keenan acknowledged Ballinamore were deserving winners, when he spoke to PJ Leddy: