Pyrite Action Group set up in Sligo

A Pyrite Action Group has been set up in Sligo as more homeowners throughout the county report their homes are affected.

The first of what is expected to be a number of Action Group meetings throughout County Sligo took place earlier this week in Castleconnor.

Among those in attendance were Sligo/Leitrim TDs Marc MacSharry and Marian Harkin, as well as councillors Joe Queenan, Michael Clarke, Marie Casserly, Thomas Healy and council cathaoirleach Paul Taylor.

Action Group Chairperson Stephen Rutledge, whose home is among those affected, says they are now awaiting a reply from Housing Minister Darragh O Brien over Sligo not so far being included in any redress scheme.

The group is also seeking a meeting with the minister as well as preparing a presentation for him, and for Sligo County Council on the increasing number of houses — and possibly some local authority houses — in the county that appear to be affected.