Weather warning update includes Sligo and Leitrim

Three more counties have been placed under a status yellow thunderstorm warning.

Donegal is under the warning already while Met Eireann has added Sligo and Leitrim to the list of affected areas.

The alert is also in place for Leinster, Cavan, Monaghan and Roscommon which comes into effect from 12pm and remains until 8pm today.

Scattered heavy showers and some spot flooding is expected.

A warning for Northern Ireland from the UK Met Office is in place until midnight tonight