Sligo end 53-year wait for Connacht minor title

Sligo were crowned Connacht minor football champions for 2021 on Friday evening, following a sensational 0-19 to 1-11 win against Roscommon at Dr Hyde Park.

it’s the county’s first minor football title since 1968.

Sligo led by a point, 0-10 to 1-6, at half-time in difficult wet conditions.

But the Yeats men produced a performance of courage and conviction throughout – and ran out deserved winners with a series of late points to secure a memorable victory.

Sligo’s Man of the Match, Buninadden’s Luke Marren, scored 10 points on the night. He spoke to Ocean FM Sport’s Niall Canning after the win:


Listen back to Ocean FM Sport’s match commentary highlights here – as described by Niall Canning and Niall Murphy:


Sligo team captain – and goalkeeper – Kyle Davey received the cup from Connacht Council President – and Sligoman – John Murphy after the final whistle, sparking great scenes of celebration.

Sligo’s additional prize, beyond the silverware, is an All-Ireland minor semi-final meeting with Leinster champions Meath on the weekend of August 21st/22nd.