New Cathaoirleach of Sligo Council to be announced this morning

It’s expected that Fianna Fáil Councillor, Paul Taylor will succeed Dara Mulvey as Cathaoirleach of Sligo County Council today.


The appointment is expected to be confirmed at the AGM of the local authority which will commence at 10 a.m.


The Ballymote Tubbercurry Councillor is the most likely to assume the role.


The position of Leas Cathaoirleach will also be decided at this morning’s meeting.


There is speculation that the current Leas Cathaoirleach,  Sligo Drumcliff Fianna Fáil Councillor Donal Gilroy will remain in the position.