Sligo to face Mayo in Connacht football championship

Tony McEntee’s Sligo will face a Connacht senior football championship opener against provincial champions Mayo.

The 2021 draw was made on RTÉ television on Monday evening by Connacht GAA President John Murphy, himself a Sligo man.

The winners of the Mayo v Sligo quarter-final will face Terry Hyland’s Leitrim in the semi-final.

New Sligo boss McEntee was previously part of Stephen Rochford’s management team in Mayo.

Roscommon will play Galway in the other semi.

London and New York are not involved again this year because of Covid travel restrictions.

Sligo didn’t contest the 2020 Connacht Championship after a Covid outbreak in the camp forced them to concede their match to Galway last year.

The 2021 championship is being played on a knockout basis with no backdoor.

All games, including provincial finals, will be decided on the day.

The dates, times and venues for the games will be confirmed by Connacht GAA in due course.

2021 Connacht senior football championship draw
Mayo/Sligo v Leitrim
Roscommon v Galway.