Kearins & Murphy get honorary Sligo GAA roles

Two of Sligo’s best gaelic footballers of all time, Mícheál Kearins and Barnes Murphy, have been appointed to honorary officer positions on the Sligo County Board.

Kearins, who was Sligo’s first every All-Star recipient in 1971, has been named as the new honorary President of Sligo GAA.

He succeeds Tommy Kilcoyne, who stood down from the position at last December’s County Convention.

The St Pat’s clubman is widely accepted to be one of the greatest forwards to ever play the game.  He was also a Cú Chulainn award (pre-cursor to the All Stars) winner in three consecutive years 1964-66. He won a Connacht Championship medal with Sligo in 1975 to crown his 17 years of dedicated service in the black and white.  He also collected seven Sligo senior club championship winners medals.

On his appointment, Kearins said: “I am genuinely honoured by this appointment. I know there is a lot of great new young talent coming through Sligo football now. That reminds me of great days we enjoyed as players and I am proud to support them and lend my voice to their efforts.”

Murphy, an All-Star winner himself in 1974, has been given the newly-created role of leas-Uachtarán. He captained and coached Sligo’s Connacht championship winning side of 1975. A defensive lynchpin, the Castleconnor native first came to prominence through his displays in many successful campaigns for St Nathy’s College. He also enjoyed tremendous success at club level winning several five county senior titles, 2 Connacht Club titles and a Connacht and All Ireland 7s with St Mary’s. He was instrumental in the formative years of St John’s GAA club, winning Junior titles with them in the 1980s.

“We’re delighted to be in a position to confirm the appointment of such legends of Sligo GAA to these honorary positions,” said Chairperson of Sligo GAA, Seán Carroll.

“We felt it was fitting to honour former players for outstanding service and not just the excellent administrators that have contributed at Board level. And who better to start with than our first two All Star winners as we reach the 50th anniversary of those awards.”

The position of Patron was held until recently by the late Kieran McDermott RIP. As a mark of respect, the formal announcement of Kieran’s successor will be deferred until a later date.