President’s Award for Fr Seán Ó’Gallchoir

Donegal’s Fr Seán Ó’Gallchoir has been named as a recipient of the GAA’s President’s Awards.

The Ghradaim an Uachtaráin  winners for 2021 were announced by Croke Park on Friday.

The 11 awards are a cross-section of people who have shared the common theme of making an inspirational impact on their code and also their club and community.

Fr Seán is synonymous with every facet of GAA in Donegal through coaching, refereeing, Scór competitions and administration.

He began teaching in Holy Cross College in an Falcarragh in 1971 later in Cloughaneely when a new school was built, the same year he was ordained a Priest.

He immediately began to coach and manage gaelic football teams within the school who enjoyed unrivalled success in Ulster from 1974 -1986.

Fr Seán was an active and well-respected referee in Donegal and Ulster. The pinnacle of his refereeing career was to officiate in two County Senior Finals as well as being the man in the middle in the Ulster Minor Final in 1982 when Antrim were the victors over Down.

He was an avid follower of Scór competitions and has been active in the Cultural side of the GAA all through his life. Fr Seán wrote many plays and dramas which were used by competing Teams in Scór competitions.

He is renowned for his most celebrated book, the Book of Donegal GAA Facts, which has just seen its seventh volume published in 2020.

He has had various other books published on subjects such as History and the Irish Language but another book of note which he has had published relating to GAA is: “The Story of the Donegal Senior Football Championship 1919 -2001” (2002).

Fr Sean spent many years involved in the Donegal Northern Board assisting in administration roles and has served CLG Chloich Cheann Fhaola (Cloughaneely) in various roles over the years.

He is currently the Honorary President of his club.

Two of the 11 awards go to Donegal men this year.

Fergus Mac Aoidh from St Eunan’s also receives the ‘Gaeilge’ award.

The President’s Awards ceremony will be broadcast by TG4 this Sunday (February 28th) at 5:10pm.