Sligo’s Kathleen Kane to receive Hall of Fame award

Sligo’s Kathleen Kane is being inducted in the Ladies Gaelic Football Association Volunteer Hall of Fame.

The St Nathy’s clubwoman is one of 10 award recipients in the 2020 LGFA volunteer of the year awards, announced on Wednesday.

Kane represented both her club and county as a player, and managed the Yeats County in two All-Ireland Final appearances. She would later become county board chairperson, before moving on to become Connacht LGFA President.

She currently holds the role of LGFA Assistant Secretary at national level.

Kathleen reflected on her football life to date with Austin O’Callaghan on Ocean FM Sport:


The awards ceremony will be held online on Friday week, February 12th, on the LGFA Facebook page, starting at 7:30pm.

The 2020 winners are as follows:

  • Young Volunteer of the Year – Sandra O’Donoghue (Rosscarbery, Cork)
  • School Coach of the Year – Conor Maguire (Loreto, Cavan)
  • Club Coach of the Year – Colin Kenny (Naomh Ciaran, Offaly)
  • Local Journalist of the Year – Ian Cooney (Roscommon Herald)
  • PRO of the Year – Peter O’Leary  (Cork LGFA)
  • Club Officer of the Year – Helen Clarke (An Caisleán Glas agus Sperrin Óg, Tyrone)
  • County/Provincial Officer of the Year – Sinead Reel (Armagh LGFA)
  • International Volunteer of the Year – Clodagh Harris (RAK Ropairí, UAE)
  • Overall Volunteer of the Year – Mikey Hyland (Shanahoe, Laois)
  • Volunteer Hall of Fame – Kathleen Kane (St Nathy’s, Sligo)

The Overall Volunteer of the Year winner, Mikey Hyland from Shanahoe in county Laois, will receive the Lulu Carroll award.