Donegal claim Nicky Rackard Cup

Donegal have won the 2020 Nicky Rackard hurling final following a 3-18 (27) to 0-21 (21) win over Mayo in Croke Park.

Two goals in as many minutes for Donegal swung the tie in their favour, coming in the last five minutes.

Mayo led for most of the game and went into half time 0-14 to 1-8 up.

Veteran Joe Byrne got the first-half goal for Donegal as Shane Boland at centre forward for Mayo kept up his impressive scoring record for this season.

After 66 minutes, Mayo held a one point lead, and Donegal had that lead had vanished by the 68th minute as two Donegal goals fromGavin Flynn and Richie Ryan put them five up.

Donegal added a further score against a stunned Mayo, and ran out winners by six points.

The Donegal hurlers paid their respects in front of the ‘Bloody Sunday’ memorial at Croke Park on Sunday, following their Nicky Rackard Cup triumph

It’s the county’s third Nicky Rackard Cup title – but once consequence of the pandemic is that there will be no promotion for Mickey McCann’s side to the Christy Ring competition in 2021.

Click below to hear Donegal manager Mickey McCann speaking to Charlie Collins after the game:


Full Time:

Donegal 3-18 (27)

Mayo 0-21 (21)