Tourlestrane celebrate Sligo five-in-a-row

Tourlestrane broke new ground in Sligo club football on Sunday evening when they beat county final newcomers Drumcliffe/Rosses Point by 1-14 to 1-11 at Markievicz Park.

They become the first Sligo club to complete the five-in-a-row of senior club football championships.

They were pushed all the way by their north Sligo opponents in what proved to be an exciting final.

Pat Harte’s second-half penalty looked to be the decisive score for Tourlestrane as it moved the holders five points clear.

But, from the restart, DRP found the net at the other end when midfielder Seán Waldron palmed the ball to the net from close range.

The gap was reduced to one following an excellent long-range point from Séan Power.

However, Tourlestrane finished strongly with Liam Gaughan kicking a fine point from close to the sideline to help his side finish three-point winners.

Listen back to the cup presentation and the speech of the winning Tourlestrane captain, James Leonard, who received the trophy from his uncle –  and county board Chairman, Brendan Leonard:

Sligo Homeland SFC final 
Tourlestrane 1-14 Drumcliffe/Rosses Point 1-11

Sligo Connacht Gold IFC final
Curry 1-16 St Molaise Gaels 1-10. 

Sligo Connacht Gold Junior ‘A’ final
Tourlestrane 2-12 Owenmore Gaels 0-8.