New bishop for ordination in Achonry; clerical changes in north Leitrim

A new catholic bishop of Achonry will be ordained this Sunday afternoon.

He’s Fr. Paul Dempsey, who comes from Carlow, and who has spent 22 years serving as a priest in Kildare.

His ordination as Bishop of Achonry will take place during a ceremony in St Nathy’s Cathedral in Ballaghaderreen at 3pm.

Of 23 parishes in the Diocese of Achonry, 11 are in County. Sligo, with 11 in Co. Mayo and one, the Cathedral Parish, partially in County Roscommon.

Sunday’s afternoon ordination ceremony will see Fr Dempsey becoming successor to Bishop Brendan Kelly, who was appointed bishop of Galway.

Archbishop Michael Neary of Tuam will be the Principal Consecrator at Sunday’s ceremony.

Archbishop Jude Thaddeus Okolo, papal nuncio to Ireland, and Bishop Denis Nulty of Kildare and Leighlin, will be the co-consecrators.

Father Vincent Sherlock, parish priest of Kilmovee, Co Mayo, will preach the homily during the Ordination Mass.

The ceremony will be filmed and livestreamed by iCatholic on the homepage of the diocesan website:

The Diocese of Achonry says planning for this Ordination Mass is in accordance with the current government and NEPHET guidelines and the number of people who will be in attendance has been greatly reduced.

Meanwhile, in the Diocese of Kilmore, the Bishop-elect there, Very Rev. Martin Hayes, has announced the following diocesan appointments which will take effect from Saturday 12 September:

Very Rev. Oliver Kelly, P.P. V.F. Manorhamilton to be parish priest in Glenfarne.

Very Rev. John Gilhooly, P.P. Mullagh to be parish priest and V.F. in Manorhamilton.

Rev. Paul Prior, C.C. Glenfarne to be parish priest in Mullagh.

Rev. Darragh Connolly, priest in residence Drumkilly, to go on half-year sabbatical.