New Sligo Cathaoirleach to be elected today



The new Cathaoirleach of Sligo County Council will be elected today at the annual general meeting of the Council.


Even at this stage, there is still speculation in relation to who will be taking over from outgoing Cathaoirleach Tom MacSharry of Fianna Fáil.


However, Ocean FM news understands that Ballymote/Tubbercurry, Fine Gael Councillor, Dara Mulvey may be one of the front runners to take up the position, with independent Councillor for Sligo-Strandhill Councillor Declan Bree also thought to be in contention.


Last year Sligo Councillors found it difficult to adopt the annual budget later in the year, after the pact formed to rotate the chairmanship of the council fell apart.


There will be also be interest to see if any new pacts have reached agreement on the distribution of the various committee positions.


Today’s meeting will also ratify the co-option of a new councillor onto the council. Former Borough Councillor, Arthur Gibbons, will take the place of Chris MacManus as a Sinn Fein councillor, after Cllr MacManus’ elevation to the position of MEP.