Fine Gael’s Dara Mulvey is new Sligo Co Council Cathaoirleach

Fine Gael Councillor for Ballymote-Tubbercurry, Dara Mulvey, was elected on Monday as the new Cathaoirleach of Sligo County Council.

He succeeds the outgoing Chair, Cllr Tom MacSharry, for the next 12 months.

Cllr Mulvey was elected ahead of Independent Councillor Declan Bree by 11 votes to 7.

The new Cathaoirleach spoke to Ocean FM after his election:

Cllr Mulvey was first elected to Sligo County Council in 2009 and served as Leas-Chathaoirleach from 2012 to 2013.