Final seats to be filled in Seanad today

42 of the 60 Seanad seats have now been filled.


The final seven seats to be filled today.


Yesterday the Industrial and Commercial panel seats were decided.


Fine Gael Senator Catherine Noone lost her seat along with Fianna Fáil’s Gerry Horkan


Timmy Dooley, the former Fianna Fáil frontbencher failed to gain a seat.


Cathaoirleach of Sligo Council, Cllr Tom MacSharry as well as Donegal native and Dublin Councillor Danny Byrne were also unsuccessful in their attempts to secure seats.



It is understood Fine Gael leader Leo Varadkar has told his parliamentary party that any government coalition deal would seek to ensure the 11 Taoiseach nominations for the Seanad would be mostly if not all women.