Niall Blaney elected to the Seanad

The former Donegal TD, Niall Blaney was elected to the Seanad last night through the agricultural panel.


Mr Blaney who served as a TD from 2002 until 2011 was one of three Fianna Fail candidates elected to the Seanad through the agricultural panel.


Paul Daly, and Denis O’Donovan also exceeded the quota as well as Independent Victor Boyhan.


Eleven candidates from the ballot will be elected with the quota at over 94,000.


Counting is continuing with restrictions in place to promote social distancing.