The north wests representatives for the 33rd Dail

After two long, exciting and historic days, the north west has got it’s new representatives for the 33rd Dail.
Sinn Fein’s popularity is clear all over the Sligo/Leitrim and Donegal Constituencies.

Pearse Doherty and Padraig MacLochlainn were elected on the first count in Donegal, with Deputy Doherty topping the poll with 21,044 first preference votes; the quota was 12,909.

It went down to the wire in Donegal, with Independent Thomas Pringle, Fianna Fails Charlie McConalogue and outgoing Education Minister, Joe Mchugh retaining there seats with none reaching the quota.

Fianna Fail’s Pat ‘The Cope’ Gallagher however, has lost his seat.

He spoke with OceanFM’s election coverage team

In the Sligo/Leitrim constituency, Sinn Fein’s Martin Kenny topped the poll on Saturday with 15,035 first preferences, the quota here was 12,137.

It took until late Monday evening to fill the final three seats.

Independent Marian Harkin took the 2nd and it was a battle between Fine Gaels Frankie Freighan and Fianna Fails Eamon Scanlon and Marc MacSharry for the final two.

Eamon Scanlon lost his seat with MacSharry Feighan taking the final two.

Marc Macsharry gave an emotional response to OceanFMs John Lynch upon learning the news.