Sligo-Leitrim: Marian Harkin elected on Count 14

Independent candidate Marian Harkin has been elected from the Sligo-Leitrim constituency on Count 14.

The former European Minister was exceeded the quota following the distribution of Declan Bree’s 5,292 votes.

She polled 12,995 votes to exceed the quota of 12,137.

Harkin gave her reaction to Ocean FM’s Niall Delaney:

Niall also spoke to Marian’s mum – Annie Gilmartin:

As Harkin’s surplus would make to material difference to the candidates below here, Fine Gael’s Thomas Walsh has now been eliminated. His 5975 votes are now being distributed.

There are now just three candidates vying for the two remaining seats.

Watch the climaz to the Sligo-Leitrim count here:

Mark MacSharry (FF) is on 9891 votes, while the fourth seat is being fought out between MacSharry’s running mate Eamon Scanlon (FF) who is on 8409 votes, and Fine Gael’s Frank Feighan who has 7231.

Harkin was previously elected to the Dáil in 2002 before being elected to the European Parliament two years later. She held that role from 04 to 2019.

As it stands – after Count 14:
Martin Kenny (SF) ELECTED
Marian Harkin (Ind) ELECTED
Marc McSharry (FF) 9891
Eamon Scanlon (FF) 8409
Frank Feighan (FG) 7231.