Donegal trio in DCU Sigerson Cup success

St Naul’s clubman Brendan McCole captained DCU to a fifth Electric Ireland Sigerson Cup title on Wednesday night, following their 0-14 to 0-7 win over IT Carlow.

McCole, who operated at full-back, received the cup from GAA President John Horan after the final whistle:

He was one of three Donegal players on the DCU team with Dungloe’s Mark Curran and St Eunan’s Conor Morrison both introduced as second-half subsitutes.

Leitrim’s Mark Plunkett and the Sligo duo of Luke Gilmartin and Mikey Gordon were also part of the wider DCU Sigerson panel.