Local Schools to benefit in summer works scheme

The Department of Education have announced details of the latest Summer Works Scheme.

Details of the  significant investment under the Department of Education’s Summer Works Scheme which will provide major improvements for 22 local primary and secondary schools in the Sligo/Leitrim/North Roscommon/South Donegal constituency.

This investment for local schools is part of a €30m fund nationally for next year’s Summer Works Scheme, which has been announced by the Minister for Education, Donegal TD Joe McHugh.

The announcement is being made seven weeks earlier than last as to provide Schools with an adequate lead in time to plan for the works.

The works will include upgrades in mechanical, electrical, gas works, sanitation as well as roof and window upgrades.

Thirteen schools in Sligo will be allocated funding.

12 of the schools are Primary Schools.

They include, Cloonacool National School, Stockane (Stoke) National School, Naomh Mhuire in Ballymote, Kilglasss National School in Enniscrone, Cliffoney National School, Rathlee National School Naomh Bhride Post Primary in Carn, Scoil Lissara Naofa, St Aidan’s National School Monasteraden and St Colman’s National School Cloontia.

The only Post Primary school to be included form Sligo is Grange Post Primary School.


Four Primary Schools in Leitrim have been included, they include Four Masters National School in Kinlough and St Hugh’s National School in Dowra.


Three local schools from Donegal also make it on to the shortlist with Scoil Naomh Chaitriona in Ballyshannon, Kilbarron National School from Ballyshannon and St McCartrans Primary School in Bundoran.


There is also good news for Boyle with confirmation that St Joseph’s National School and the Abbey Community College will receive funding under the scheme.


Local Senator and General election candidate Frank Feighan has welcome the welcomed funding and says it will allow the schools in question to upgrade their facilities.