Sligo and Leitrim hurlers named in Champion 15

Three Sligo Hurlers and two from Leitrim have been named in this years Champion 15 team.

The Champion 15 is the All-Star team for hurling’s Christy Ring, Nicky Rackard and Lory Meagher Cup competitons.

Christy Ring Cup winners Meath and Rackard champions Sligo lead they way with three nominations each.

Keith Raymond, James Weir and Gerard O’Kelly Lynch are all selected from the Yeats county men. Sligo star Raymond was also named as player of the year for the Nicky Rackard Cup.

Enda Moreton and James Glancy are selected from Leitrim after they claimed the Lory Meagher Cup for the first time in the counties history.

Down also have two nominations, with players from Armagh, Tyrone, Derry, Wicklow and Lancashire completing the 15.


Champion 15 Team 2019 

1: Simon Doherty (Armagh) – Nickey Rackard Cup

2: Caolan Taggart (Down) – Christy Ring Cup

3: Keith Keoghan (Meath) – Christy Ring Cup

4: Enda Moreton (Leitrim) – Lory Meagher Cup

5: James Weir (Sligo) – Nickey Rackard Cup

6: James Glancy (Leitrim) – Lory Meagher Cup

7: John Henderson (Wicklow) – Christy Ring Cup

8: Keith Raymond (Sligo) – Nickey Rackard Cup

9: Sean Geraghty (Meath) – Christy Ring Cup

10: Jack Regan (Meath) – Christy Ring Cup

11: Gerard O’Kelly Lynch (Sligo) – Nickey Rackard Cup

12: Damian Casey (Tyrone) – Nickey Rackard Cup

13: Dáithi Sands (Down) – Christy Ring Cup

14: Ronan Crowley (Lancashire) – Lory Meagher Cup 

15: Sé McGuigan (Derry) – Christy Ring Cup  


Player of the Year 


Joe McDonagh Cup 

Paddy Purcell – Laois


Christy Ring Cup

Jack Regan – Meath


Nickey Rackard Cup

Keith Raymond – Sligo


Lory Meagher Cup

Ronan Crowley – Lancashire