Sligo & Leitrim hurlers get ‘Champion 15’ nominations

Five Leitrim hurlers and four Sligo hurlers have been nominated for the 2019 Champions 15 team for their outstanding performances during the Nicky Rackard and Lory Meagher Cup competitions this year.

45 nominees have been announced by the GAA and GPA. In all, 20 counties feature on the list.

The Leitrim nominees are: James Glancy, Declan Molloy, the Moreton brothers Enda and Liam, and Gavin O’Hagan.

Nicky Rackard cup winners Sligo are represented on the shortlist by Gerard O’Kelly-Lynch, Keith Raymond, Joe Starr and team captain James Weir.

Both Weir and his Leitrim counterpart Declan Molloy are seeking their second consecutive Champions 15 award.

The Champion 15 Nominations are listed below.

Simon Doherty            Armagh (Nicky Rackard Cup)

Dean Gaffney              Armagh (Nicky Rackard Cup)

Caolan Rice                 Armagh (Nicky Rackard Cup)

Diarmaid Carney        Cavan (Lory Meagher Cup)

Brian Óg McGilligan   Derry (Christy Ring Cup)

Sé McGuigan               Derry (Christy Ring Cup)

Danny  Cullen              Donegal (Christy Ring Cup)

Stephen Keith              Down (Christy Ring Cup)

Dáithi Sands                Down (Christy Ring Cup)

Eoghan Sands              Down (Christy Ring Cup)

Caolan Taggart           Down (Christy Ring Cup)

John Duffy                   Fermanagh (Lory Meagher Cup)

James  Burke               Kildare (Christy Ring Cup)

Jack Sheridan              Kildare (Christy Ring Cup)

Darren Crowley           Lancashire (Lory Meagher Cup)

Ronan  Crowley           Lancashire (Lory Meagher Cup)

Greg Jacob                  Lancashire (Lory Meagher Cup)

James  Glancy             Leitrim (Lory Meagher Cup)

Declan Molloy             Leitrim (Lory Meagher Cup)

Enda Moreton             Leitrim (Lory Meagher Cup)

Liam Moreton             Leitrim (Lory Meagher Cup)

Gavin O’Hagan            Leitrim (Lory Meagher Cup)

Shane Lawless             London (Christy Ring Cup)

David Buckley             Longford (Nicky Rackard Cup)

Darren Geoghegan      Louth (Nicky Rackard Cup)

Shane Boland              Mayo (Nicky Rackard Cup)

Shane Brennan            Meath (Christy Ring Cup)

Sean Geraghty            Meath (Christy Ring Cup)

Damien Healy             Meath (Christy Ring Cup)

Keith Keoghan             Meath (Christy Ring Cup)

Jack Regan                  Meath (Christy Ring Cup)

Shane Whitty               Meath (Christy Ring Cup)

Fergal Rafter               Monaghan (Nicky Rackard Cup)

Cathal Dolan               Roscommon (Christy Ring Cup)

Pádraig Kelly               Roscommon (Christy Ring Cup)

Gerard O’Kelly-Lynch  Sligo (Nicky Rackard Cup)

Keith Raymond            Sligo (Nicky Rackard Cup)

Joe Starr                      Sligo (Nicky Rackard Cup)

James  Weir                Sligo (Nicky Rackard Cup)

Damian Casey             Tyrone (Nicky Rackard Cup)

Tiernan Morgan          Tyrone (Nicky Rackard Cup)

Willie Allen                 Warwickshire (Nicky Rackard Cup)

John Collins                 Warwickshire (Nicky Rackard Cup)

John Henderson          Wicklow (Christy Ring Cup)

Stephen Kelly              Wicklow (Christy Ring Cup).

The winners will be announced at the GAA/GPA All-Stars banquet on Friday, November 1st.