Sligo GAA to honour Collooney/Ballisodare team of 1969

Sligo GAA will commemorate the Golden Jubilee (50 years) of the Ballisodare/Collooney  senior county championship-winning team of 1969 at this Sunday’s Belfry senior football final in Markievicz Park.

The players and representatives will be presented to the crowd at  half-time in the 2019 senior football final between Tourlestrane and Coolera/Strandhill.

This is an opportunity for Sligo GAA followers to  acknowledge, remember and salute these great players who played the game with pride and passion and reached  the highest accolade in Sligo GAA- winning the Sligo Senior Football title against St Patrick’s in 1969.

The Ballisodare/Collooney team of 1969 was: Tommy Weir  R.I.P., Terry McLoughlin, Michael Molloy, Des Hennessy, Aiden Flynn, Brendan McCauley, Tim Sheehan, Damien Martin, Paul Hannon, Gerry Horgan, Joe Hannon  R.I.P., Ray Henry, Bernie Finn, Michael Flynn  R.I.P., Seamus Henry, Christy Lynch, Paddy Walsh, Tony Gray, Padraic Watters, Dickie Hogge, John Mitchell  R.I.P, Des Whittaker R.I.P., Tony Tighe  R.I.P., Jim Gilligan  R.I.P.

Six Sligo Players, who helped Connacht win the Railway Cup final in 1969 against Munster in Croke Park, will also be honoured.  The Sligo players on Connacht team were : Liam Caffrey (Enniscrone/Kilglass), Jim Colleary (Curry), Micheal Kearins ( St Pats), Peter Brennan (Tubbercurry), Brendan Mc Cauley, Cathal Cawley (R.I.P).