Donegal get six football All-Star nominations

Six Donegal footballers have received GAA All-Star nominations for 2019.

They are: goalkeeper Shaun Patton, Stephen McMenamin, Kilcar duo Ryan McHugh and Paddy McBrearty, Bundoran’s Jamie Brennan and team captain Michael Murphy.

Five in a row history makers Dublin have been rewarded with 13 nominations. The All-Ireland champions have also made it a clean sweep of nominees for the GAA GPA footballer of the year award for the second season in a row, with Stephen Cluxton, Jack McCaffrey and Con O’Callaghan to be voted on by their fellow peers.

The final selection of 15 players will be annouinced at the All-Stars banquet in Dublin on Friday, November 1.

The county-by-county breakdown is: Dublin 13, Kerry 9, Donegal 6, Mayo 4, Tyrone 3, Meath 3, Armagh 2, Roscommon 2, Cavan 1, Clare 1, Cork 1.

Here’s the full list of All-Star football nominees:

Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)
Shaun Patton (Donegal)
Shane Ryan (Kerry)

David Byrne (Dublin)
Jack McCaffrey (Dublin)
James McCarthy (Dublin)
Mick Fitzsimons (Dublin)
John Small (Dublin)
Paul Murphy (Kerry)
Tadhg Morley (Kerry)
Tom O’Sullivan (Kerry)
Colm Boyle (Mayo)
Paddy Durcan (Mayo)
Chris Barrett (Mayo)
Stephen McMenamin (Donegal)
Ryan McHugh (Donegal)
Donal Keogan (Meath)
Conor McGill (Meath)
Conor Moynagh (Cavan)
Ronan McNamee (Tyrone)
Niall Daly (Roscommon)

Brian Fenton (Dublin)
Michael Darragh Macauley (Dublin)
David Moran (Kerry)
Aidan O’Shea (Mayo)
Jarlath Óg Burns (Armagh)
Bryan Menton (Meath)

Ciarán Kilkenny (Dublin)
Brian Howard (Dublin)
Paul Mannion (Dublin)
Dean Rock (Dublin)
Con O’Callaghan (Dublin)
David Clifford (Kerry)
Paul Geaney (Kerry)
Seán O’Shea (Kerry)
Stephen O’Brien (Kerry)
Jamie Brennan (Donegal)
Michael Murphy (Donegal)
Paddy McBrearty (Donegal)
Cathal McShane (Tyrone)
Mattie Donnelly (Tyrone)
Conor Cox (Roscommon)
Rían O’Neill (Armagh)
Brian Hurley (Cork)
Jamie Malone (Clare).