Major changes to the North Garda Region to be announced today

Major changes to the Northern Garda Region which, includes counties Sligo, Leitrim and Donegal, will be announced today.

It’s understood the counties will now become part of a much larger region and that Garda divisions will be reduced from 28 to 19.

Commissioner Drew Harris will reveal the new Operating Model, which will see changes to the organisation’s structures, processes, services and governance

Under the new plans, believed to big the biggest shake up of the force in modern times, more gardai will be deployed to the front line.

It’s expected that Garda divisions will be reduced from 28 to 19, giving greater independence to the new larger divisions – Garda regions are also likely to be reduced from 6 to 4.

An Garda Siochana says the new plan will increase the number of front-line Gardaí, deliver a more localised service to communities, and maximise the force’s operational impact.

In a statement this morning, the Garda Representative Association says that Commissioner Drew Harris has assured them that the plan isn’t necessarily the last word on the issue and that the views of the GRA and others will be considered.