Tourlestrane complete five-in-a-row of Sligo league titles

Tourlestrane senior gaelic footballers retained their Furey’s Coaches senior football league division 1 title in Sligo on Saturday evening with a 0-16 to 2-8 win against Shamrock Gaels at Kilcoyne Park in Tubbercurry.

It’s a fifth consecutive league title for the south Sligo team, managed jointly by former county stars Eamonn O’Hara and Gerry McGowan.

Cathal Henry scored nine points for the winners, including five from frees. Tourlestrane led by 0-9 to 1-3 with Shane Deignan finding the net for the Gaels in in that opening half. Frankie Quinn added a second three-pointer in the closing quarter which set up a close finish but, in the end, Tourlestrane’s firepower upfront guided them to another senior league title.