Sligo outclassed by Mayo in Connacht under 20 championship

Sligo under 20 footballers were no match for Mayo in Wednesday evening’s Connacht championship semi-final in Castlebar with the home side running out convincing 1-26 to 1-5 winners.

Mayo led by 0-12 to 0-2 at the end of a one-sided first half.  Sligo did have a penalty saved during this period and Mayo were in total control of the game thereafter.

All bar two of Mayo’s scores came from open play – and just two members of the team that lined out in last year’s All-Ireland final defeat to Kildare – midfielder Evan O’Brien and captain Tommy Conroy – featured in this game.

In the evening’s other semi-final, Padraic Joyce’s Galway side beat Roscommon by 0-17 to 1-7 in Kiltoom.

Sligo team: A Davey, E Lyons, J Ellis, D Barrett, C Surlis, KvMcKenna, N Connolly, B Gorman (0-4), D. McDermott, GvGorman, A Reilly (0-1), J Carroll, L Towey, SvDeignan (0-1), R McHugh. Subs used: S Carroll (1-0), H Gilvarry, CvMarren, C Brett, P Flynn, E Hallinan.

The Connacht Under 20 final between Galway and Mayo will be played in Tuam Stadium on Wednesday, July 10th at 7:30pm.