Sligo minors lose to Mayo in Castlebar

Sligo minor gaelic footballers bowed out of the Connacht minor football championship on Wednesday evening at McHale Park in Castlebar when they were beaten by Mayo on a final scoreline of 5-7 to 1-10.

On the evening, Sligo failed to reach the level of performance that had seen them record victories against the same opposition, as well as Roscommon and Leitrim during the round-robin stages of the minor championship.

Playing against a strong wind, Sligo conceded two goals in the space of a minute in the opening half, both scored by Mayo’s Paul Walsh – he would score four in total on the evening – and the visitors trailed by 2-6 to 0-3 at half-time.

On an evening when very little went right for Michael Duffy’s side, Mayo added three more goals in the second-half to book a Connacht final meeting against Galway on July 5th.

Sligo team: J Teape, S Muldowney, M Connolly-McGowan, O Hynes, C Mulligan, C McKeon, C Finn, J Keaney, J Lavin, O McDonagh, E Smith (0-4, 3fs), J Davitt (1-2), L Deignan, O Gorman, G Duffy (0-2). Subs: D Walsh (0-2 45s) L Casserly, K Feeley.