Three Sligo players on inaugural Ireland wheelchair hurling team

There Sligo players have been included on the inugural Ireland wheelchair hurling squad to contest the 2019 European ParaGames Floorball event in the Netherlands later this month.

Tourlestrane’s Pat Carty, Stephen Melvin from Ballinacarrow and Aidan Hynes are the Sligo trio who are included on the 12-man panel. Carty is named as team captain.

They’ll travel to Breda in the Netherlands to compete in the European event from June 27-29th.

Floorball is a game that is being considered for addition to the list of sports in the Paralympics and the main difference between it and wheelchair hurling is that players cannot rise the ball.