New pact among councillors on Sligo County Council

Fianna Fail Councillor Tom MacSharry is the new cathaoirleach of Sligo County Council.

People Before Profit Councillor Gino O Boyle is the new leas-cathaoirleach.

They were selected this morning at the council’s AGM, which was the first meeting of the council since the local elections.

This morning’s annual general meeting of Sligo County Council revealed a new pact or alliance among certain councillors.

It sees Fianna Fail and Sinn Fein, People Before Profit’s Gino O Boyle, Independent Socialist Declan Bree and Independent Joe Queenan, voting together.

They have an agreement which this morning saw Fianna Fail Councillor Tom MacSharry and People Before Profit Councillor Gino O Boyle selected as the new carthaoirleach and leas-cathaoirleach.

They were chosen unanimously, without a vote, as Fine Gael would not have had the numbers to select one of their own for the positions, despite doubling their representation on the council from three to six.

Fianna Fail Councillor Rosaleen O’Grady proposed Cllr Tom MacSharry for cathaoirleach, and this was seconded by Cllr Paul Taylor.

Agreements such as the one between councillors on Sligo County Council usually outline who will hold what positions over the coming five years

But it remains unclear what will happen when certain votes arise, such as for the annual budget, on which some of those councillors usually abstain or vote against.

But Cllr MacSharry said his party hope to rely on this agreement for the next five years

For the position of leas-cathaoirleach, or vicechairperson, Cllr Bree proposed Cllr O Boyle, and this was seconded by Sinn Fein’s Thomas Healy.

Fine Gael Councillor Thomas Walsh is now the youngest member of the council.

He’s also his party’s whip on the local authority, which will see him play a key role in dealing with the opposing block of councillors.

He agreed they all have to work together but he said it may lead to interesting days ahead.