Healy (SF), Walsh (FG) and Gilroy (FF) set to take seats in Sligo-Drumcliffe

Sinn Fein’s Thomas Healy is expected to top the poll in the Sligo-Drumcliffe electoral area.

The quota in this electoral area is expected to be about 1,100.

According to the final tallies, Healy easily exceed the quota with 1.385.

Thomas Walsh (Fine Gael) and Donal Gilroy (Fianna Fáil) are also set to be elected in this five-seat electoral area.

Walsh has 1,163 first preferences while Gilroy has 1,264.

Three candidates are vying for the two remaining seats: Tom Fox (Fine Gael), Marie Casserly (Independent) and Seamus Kilgannon (Fianna Fáil). Casserly has 1,176, Fox has 1033 and Kilgannon has 885.

Ciara McLoughlin (Fine Gael) has polled  794 first preferences, and at this stage, looks unlikely to be elected.

People Before Profit’s Nigel Gallagher is on 423, while Colm McGurran (Fianna Fáil) is on 319.

Independent Amanda Gallagher has received 267 votes,, and Corey White 215, according to the final tallies.

These results mean that there will be two new Councillors from the Sligo-Drumcliffe electoral area on the new County Council.

Follow the count and see the final tally figures for Sligo-Drumcliffe here.

Counting in the Sligo-Drumcliffe area will begin later today.