West Sligo neighbours celebrate Sligo U21 football title

Easkey/Enniscrone/Kilglass captured the Sligo under 21 ‘A’ football championship title for 2019 on Friday night with a 1-15 to 0-12 win against Eastern Harps at Cloonacool.

The team managed jointly by Dessie Sloyane, Con O’Meara and Vincent Cuffe were deserved six points winners at the finish. It’s their first county title at this grade for 29 years.

Easkey/Enniscrone/Kiglass had reached the decider after a semi-final victory over 2018 finalists Shamrock Gaels. Harps had reached the final after a closely-fought one point semi-final by a single point.

As for Friday’s final, the teams were level at 0-6 each at half-time but the west division amalgamation made a decisive move in the third quarter with Joe McHugh’s goal a crucial score. Gavin Duffy contributed six points on the night, including a monster 45 in the second-half shortly before McHugh’s goal.

The same group of players captured the county minor ‘A’ title three years ago (2016)

Pictured is team captain Mikey Gordon receiving the silverware from Sligo GAA Chairperson Brendan Leonard after the final whistle.