17 Euro candidates to choose from in Midlands North-West constituency

Seventeen candidates are seeking election to the European Parliament in the Midlands North-West Constituency.

But none of those candidates are based in counties Sligo or Leitrim while two are resident in Donegal.

After all the rumours and counter-rumours during the past few weeks, we now know exactly who will be on the ballot papers for the European elections.

But if the effort to generate interest in Europe has been a struggle in the past, the coming battle is likely to do little to create any Euro election fever, particularly in Sligo or Leitrim.

There are two with Donegal addresses, Cyril Brennan, of Solidarity People Before Profit, from Lissacholly, Ballyshannon, and Peter Casey, from Greencastle.

Three of the candidates are fighting to retain their seats: they are Luke ‘Ming’ Flanagan, non-Party; Mairead McGuinness, Fine Gael; and Matt Carthy, Sinn Fein.

The other candidates are: Dr Dilip Mahapatra, non-party, from Dundalk; Saoirse McHugh, Green Party, Achill, Co Mayo; Maria Walsh, Fine Gael, Shrule, Co Galway; Anne Rabbitte, Fianna Fail, Portumna, Co Galway; Brendan Smith, Fianna Fail, Cavan; Dominic Hannigan, Labour, Galway; Patrick Greene, Direct Democracy, Louth; Fidelma Healy Eames, non-party, Oranmore, Co Galway; Michael O Dowd, Renua, Drogheda; Diarmaid Mulcahy, non-party, Galway; James Miller, non-party, Westmeath; Olive O Connor, non-party, Ballinrobe, Co Mayo.