Sligo’s Ryan Feehily named Senior Club Player of the Year

Sligo’s joint-captain Ryan Feehily was named as the Connacht Rugby Senior Club Player of the Year for 2018/19 at the Connacht Rugby awards ceremony, held in Salthill, Galway, on Saturday night.

Feehily has been a pivotal player in Sligo’s promotion push this season in Division 2B of the All-Ireland league. He played a key role in helping Sligo to win a number of crucial games this season – and the accolade is a fitting recognition of his contribution to the team this season.

Sligo RFC were also nominated for the Club of the Year award. That ‘gong’ went to Creggs RFC for the second year in a row.

Summerhill College student Donnacha Byrne was also shortlisted for the under 18 Player of the Year award.

Sligo will play Blackrock next Saturday, April 20th, in their AIL promotion play-off semi-final in Dublin at 2:30pm.