Donegal lift Division 2 league title

Donegal gaelic footballers won Saturday evening’s Allianz Football League division 2 final with a 1-17 to 1-15 victory over Meath at Croke Park.

Joint captains Michael Murphy and Hugh McFadden (both pictured) received the silverware from GAA President John Horan after an open and entertaining game which saw Donegal come from 1-6 to 0-1 down at one stage to win by two at the finish.

Murphy was central to the Donegal revival as the Glenswilly man contributed seven points and set up Bundoran’s Jamie Brennan for his 57th minute goal which gave Donegal the lead for the first time in the game.

Listen to the Donegal captain’s postmatch interview here:


The final also saw Gweedore’s Neil McGee break the all-time appearance record for the county when he made his 174th appearance in a Donegal senior jersey. He spoke with Charlie Collins after the game:


Donegal team:
Shaun Patton, Paddy McGrath, Brendan McCole, Stephen McMenamin, Daire Ó Baoill, Leo McLoone, Eoghan Bán Gallagher, Jason McGee (0-2), Hugh McFadden, Ryan McHugh, Niall O’Donnell (0-2), Caolan McGonagle, Oisin Gallen (0-4), Michael Murphy (0-7), Jamie Brennan (1-2). Subs used: Neil McGee for Cole; Eamonn Doherty for McLoone; Michael Langan for McGonagle; Eoin McHugh for O Baoill; Frank McGlynn for Ryan McHugh.