[SLIGO & DONEGAL TOWN PARADE WINNERS ADDED] St. Patrick’s Day parades across the North West





The winners for the Sligo parade have been announced with the Save Ballinfull Post Office taking the crown for 2019’s St. Patrick’s Day Parade winning the Clarence Hotel Cup.


Below are all of this years winners:


Overall Award – Clarence Hotel Cup: Save Ballinfull Post Office
Best Represents Theme of Parade: Abbott Ireland
Industrial and Commercial 1st: Brooks
Industrial and Commercial 2nd:  O’Hehirs
Industrial and Commercial 3rd: Kake Kreations
Arts/Culture: Indian Association of Sligo
Youth Section: Lisa Cooper Dance School
Sports Section 1st Place: Five Fist Kung Fu
Sports Section 2nd Place: Coolera Strandhill GAA Club
Scouts Section: Calry Scouts
Schools Cup: St Mary’s College Ballisodare, Save our School
Community Section: Filipino Association
Adjudicator’s Cup: Ursuline College Cheerleaders
Novelty Section: Ursuline College Noah’s Ark
Special Award 1st Place: Siobhan McDonnell Dance School
Special Award 2nd Place: The Organic Centre
National School: Sligo Gael Scoil
Band Section: Aughrim Pipe Band, Tyrone
Local Band Section: Ballinacarrow School Band
Highly Commended: Sligo Pipe Band
Aclare and Manorhamilton are yet to hold their parades, they are beginning at 4.30pm and 5pm respectively this evening.
Best School: Scoil an Leinbh Iosa , Killymard
Best Band: St Nauls , Ardaghey
Best Community: Donegal Vintage Club
Best Business: Mc Cafferty’s Quarry

A number of St. Patrick’s Day parades are taking place all day today across the North West region

The parade in Sligo Town begins at 12 noon from Mail Coach road where it will head on to Temple St and finish at Teeling St. whilie Sligo will also hope to break a world record for the largest number of leprechauns.

Parades kick off in Enniscrone at 1pm, Easkey at 3pm, Dromore West at 4pm, Grange starts 2pm, Ballymote at 3.30pm and Aclare has alter start today at 4.30pm.

In Leitrim, Dromahair’s parade is getting underway at 4pm and Manorhamilton at 5pm.

While in Donegal the Ballyshannon parade begins at 2pm, followed by Bundroan at 3.30pm with Killybegs and Donegal Town parades both beginning at 3pm.

For motorists, Gardai advise to take note of road closures during the parades across the three counties.

There are a number of road closures across the region and people are reminded that most main streets will be closed during the time of parades in each town.

OceanFM is broadcasting the Sligo Parade LIVE which you can view by clicking here