Fowley & McDermott retain Ireland places for Welsh game

The Sligo duo of Aoife McDermott and Nicole Fowley have kept their places on the Ireland women’s team for Sunday’s final Six Nations game against the Welsh at Cardiff Arms Park.

There are two changes to the team which lost to France last week. Beibhinn Parsons and Lindsay Peat will both make their first start of the tournament. Parsons is named on the wing, while Peat starts in the front row.

Drumcliffe native Fowley retains her starting berth at outhalf, while Riverstown’s McDermott got a late call-up to the starting team against France last Friday night – and she keeps her place in the second row.

Ballybofey’s Laura Feely lis among the replacements.

Ireland lie fourth in the Women’s Six Nations table going into Sunday’s game against Wales, with just one win (against Scotland) from their four matches to date.

View the women’s Six Nations standings here.

Ireland team to play Wales on Sunday:

15. Lauren Delany (Firwood Waterloo Ladies/IQ Rugby)
14. Eimear Considine (UL Bohemians/Munster)
13. Enya Breen (UL Bohemians/Munster)
12. Sene Naoupu (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
11. Beibhinn Parsons (Ballinasloe/Connacht)
10. Nicole Fowley (Galwegians/Connacht)
9. Kathryn Dane (Old Belvedere/Ulster)
1. Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/Leinster)
2. Deirbhile Nic a Bhaird (UL Bohemians/Munster)
3. Fiona Reidy (UL Bohemians/Munster)
4. Aoife McDermott (Railway Union/Leinster)
5. Nichola Fryday (Galwegians/Connacht)
6. Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemians/Munster) (Capt)
7. Claire Molloy (Wasps)
8. Claire McLaughlin (Old Belvedere/Ulster)

16. Emma Hooban (St. Mary’s/Leinster)
17. Linda Djougang (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
18. Laura Feely (Galwegians/Connacht)
19. Edel McMahon (Galwegians/Connacht)
20. Anna Caplice (Richmond)
21. Nicole Cronin (UL Bohemians/Munster)
22. Ellen Murphy (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
23. Laura Sheehan (UL Bohemians/Munster).

Sunday’s game will be televised live on RTÉ from 1:30pm.