Fianna Fail party selects four candidates for local elections in Sligo

The Fianna Fail party in County Sligo has now finalised its list of candidates to run in next year’s local elections.

Last night, it picked its candidates to run in the Ballymote/Tubbercurry/West Sligo area.

At a selection convention last night in Tubbercurry, Fianna Fail selected four candidates to run in the 2019 local elections.

They are outgoing councillors Martin Baker from Riverstown, Keith Henry from Killavil and Paul Taylor, from Gurteen.

Outgoing Fianna Fail Councillor Jerry Lundy is not seeking reelection and in his place, Romald Mullarkey, from Tubbercurry, was selected to run.

Cllr Baker is the current council Cathaoirleach and runs a butcher’s business in Riverstown. He was first elected in 2004.

Paul Taylor is a building contractor and the current manager of the Sligo senior GAA team.

Keith Henry will contest his first election, having been co-opted to the council to fill the vacancy caused by Eamon Scanlon’s election to the Dail.

Romald Mullarkey will also be a first-time candidate.

The Cloonacool man runs a business in Tubbercurry and is a former president of Tubbercurry Chamber of Commerce.

In the Sligo/Strandhill and Sligo/Rosses Point areas, Fianna Fail has already selected five candidates: they are outgoing councillors Rosaleen O Grady, Tom MacSharry and Seamus Kilgannon.

Also running will be former election candiate and Grange businessman Donal Gilroy, and Colm McGurran, from Ballisodare, who runs McGurran Construction.