Fine Gael in Sligo selecting its local election candidates

Fine Gael members in Sligo will be selecting their candidates in January for the local elections next May.

A date has been set for one selection convention; it’s the Ballymote/Tubbercurry/West Sligo convention to be held on January 18th in the Castledargan Hotel, in Ballygawley.

A date for selection conventions for the Sligo/Strandhill and Sligo/Drumcliffe areas is expected to be announced in the coming days.

There are two municipal districts in County Sligo from which councillors are to be elected.

One is the 10-seat Sligo Municipal District, which covers a wide area stretching from Ballisodare all the way to Bunduff Bridge in north Sligo, taking in Sligo town, Strandhill, Rosses Point and up as far as Cliffoney.

In this area are two electoral areas, Sligo/Standhill and Sligo/Drumcliff.

Those seeking nominations to run as Fine Gael candidates include outgoing councillors Hubert Keaney and Sinead Maguire, as well as Thomas Walsh from Ballygawley and Blaine Gaffney, who’s parliamentary assistant for Deputy Tony McLoughlin.

A number of other names are also being mentioned, including a relation of a sitting politician and, possibly one former councillor.

Meanwhile, in the in the eight-seater Ballymote/Tubbercurry/West Sligo area, outgoing Councillor Darragh Mulvey will be among those seeking a nomination to run.

Former councillor and TD John Perry says he has been asked by the Fine Gael general secretary to run and is giving it serious consideration.

Dromore West-based businessman Blair Feeney will also be seeking a nomination.

The local elections will take place on Friday, May 24th, the same day as the European Parliament elections.