Fianna Fail targetting more votes, seats in Sligo local elections

The Fianna Fail party is hoping it will take an extra council seat in the 10-seat Sligo Municipal District in next year’s local elections.

Last night, it choose five candidates to run in the area, two from the Sligo/Strandhill area and three in the Sligo/Drumcliffe area.

The two nominated to run in Sligo/Strandhill area are outgoing councillors Rosaleen O Grady and Tom MacSharry .

The three to run in the Sligo/Drumcliffe area are outgoing councillor Seamus Kilgannon; Grange businessman and former local election candiate Donal Gilroy; and Colm McGurran, from Ballisodare, who runs McGurran Construction.

Sligo Fianna Fail Comhairle Dail Ceanntair chairperson, Marian Moore, says that because of the size of the Sligo/Drumcliffe area, they needed a candidate to run in the Ballisodare area: