Sligo Rovers sign striker Ronan Murray

Sligo Rovers announced three signings for the 2019 season on Monday.

The club has secured the signature of stiker Ronan Murray (pictured) from Dundalk on a two-year deal, while Regan Donelon and Kyle Callan-McFadden have both renewed their contracts for next season.

The trio of signatures adds to the existing list of players who have already committed to Rovers for next season: Mitchell Beeney. Ed McGinty, Patrick McClean, John Mahon, Jack Keaney, David Cawley, Kris Twardek, Liam Kerrigan, Niall Morahan and Luke MacNicholas.

New signing Ronan Murray began his professional career at Ipswich Town at the age of 15, along with fellow Rovers player David Cawley. He progressed through the club’s youth system to play first team football under Roy Keane. While at Portman Road, the striker had loan spells at Torquay United, Plymouth Argyle and Swindon Town. Murray was a League 2 winner with Swindon Town under Paulo Di Canio in the 2011/12 season.

After a five-year association with Ipswich Town, Murray made the switch to Notts County in 2013 and he spent three seasons there, making 68 appearances for the club and scoring 14 goals. Murray has made 129 appearances across the Championship, League 1, League 2 and various Cup competitions.

In December 2016, Ronan signed for Shane Keegan’s Galway United ahead of the 2017 season. Ronan made 38 appearances for Galway and scored 17 times in the process. He then left Galway to sign for Dundalk ahead of the start of the 2018 season. He made 11 appearances for the Lillywhites last season.